Kindness is my Kryptonite

“Kind” isn’t the usual description for a rejection. It should be. Yesterday, I experienced two examples of rejections softened with kindness.

The personal example was a rejection delivered so kindly that I almost didn’t mind not getting the answer I preferred. He has power and was kind while using it, taking time to explain his opinion and urge me to keep trying. Of course I’m disappointed. I also felt empowered and encouraged.

The US election offered the second example. Ms. Clinton was kind and gracious in her concession. One hopes Mr. Trump would do the same to concede a loss.

Even if neither of yesterday’s decisions were my choice, conceding my loses with kindness feels healthier.

Much has been said and written about poor role models in the public realm: the accusations, rudeness, vitriol, and nastiness. Where can I vote to bring back language rooted in kindness as an antidote?

 

2 thoughts on “Kindness is my Kryptonite

  1. Elaine says:

    “There is no greater wisdom than kindness”.
    Today I was so grateful for the act of kindness my radiation oncologist displayed when he spent over an hour showing me multiple images of my chest and explaining why the rib lesion detected is “almost certainly not cancer”. By his act of kindness, he wisely gave me the reassurance I so desperately needed. I have never considered my breast cancer a gift but the words and acts of kindness that have flowed towards me in the cancer dance have been so appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

